Text Size:

-A +A





The full A Level is made up of four units. Two will be studied in the first year and two in the second year. The four units are:

Unit 1: Information, Systems and Applications

You will study topics such as ICT laws and legislation and will look at how computers are used in areas such as education and health.

Unit 2: Structured ITC Tasks

This unit involves practical tasks such as spreadsheets, databases and graphics.

Unit 3: ICT Systems, Applications and Implications 

You will study topics such as database theory, ICT communications and networking of computers.

Unit 4: ICT Project

This unit involves the analysis, design, implementation and documentation of an ICT system.


Please see page 26 for general entry requirements.

In addition, to study this project you will need a grade C or above in GCSE IT or a similar level of ICT qualification.


ICT is assessed by external tests in two units. Students build up a portfolio of assignments that are based around practical projects using different types of software. These structured tasks are internally assessed and externally moderated.

Examinations are taken in two units:

Unit 1: Information, systems and applications (2 hour exam)

Unit 3: ICT systems, applications and implications (2 hour exam)


This A Level gives students good software skills as a preparation for work or study in any area. ICT is a firm foundation for students wishing to study computing-related subjects at university or seeking employment in an ICT-related job.

ICT experience could enhance your career prospects regardless of your chosen profession, as ICT is widely used in all aspects of government, business, industry, education, leisure or charity activities.